Are You New To Louisiana ?

 

When you become a new resident of Louisiana, you must obtain a Louisiana driver's license. Proof of residency and proper identification documents must be submitted to the Office of Motor Vehicles. You must present any driver's license in your possession, as it is unlawful to have more than one license.

 

 

NEW RESIDENT

 

If you are a new Louisiana resident, your MUST immediately title and register any vehicles you own with the Office of Motor Vehicles You will need to furnish your out of state title, registration certificate and proof of insurance. If your title is being held by an out of state lienholder, you should either obtain a photocopy of your title or provide a statement from the state where the vehicle is currently titled stating that the tile was issued to you and was mailed to your lienholder. This statement should be on their letterhead stationery and list a complete description of the vehicle in question. You will be required to pay a state use tax and any applicable parish and city use taxes on the fair market value of your vehicle. Louisiana has a recip0rocity agreement with numerous states which may allow a maximum credit of 4 percent if taxes were paid to one of the reciprocal states. Proof of payment may be required.

 

SEE SALES/USE TAX SECTION FOR MORE INFORMATION

 

 

When applying for a Louisiana driver's license, you must present the document listed below:

 

  1. Current out of state driver's license.

  2. If driver's license is lost or expired 60 days or more, a letter of clearance from the issuing state is required to indicate your driving status is clear.

  3. Social security card, unless shown on driver's license

  4. Proof of residence.

 

SEE OBTAINING A DRIVERS LICENSE FOR THE

FIRST TIME SECTION FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

ALIEN/FOREIGN STUDENTS

 

Aliens applying for a first time driver's license are required to present the properly issued documents as required by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS).

 

WARNING: INTENTIONALLY FURNISHING FALSE INFORMATION TO OBTAIN A DRIVER'S LICENSE OR I.D. CARD, OR POSSESSING EITHER A FRAUDULENT DRIVER'S LICENSE OR I.D. OR ALLOWING SOMEONE TO USE THE DRIVER'S LICENSE OR I.D. IN A FRAUDULENT MANNER CAN RESULT IN THE SUSPENSION OF THE DRIVER'S LICENSE ALONG WITH CRIMINAL PENALTIES.

 

  1. Foreign students must present the following document:

  2. Current driver's license

  3. Passport (must be stamped by INS)

  4. Social security card

  5. Proof of residency

  6. Driver education course (unless previously licensed)

  7. School Enrollment Status From if applicant is a minor (age 15 through 17)

 

PLEASE BRING CASH ONLY FOR DRIVER'S LICENSE